GoldE Manumatic Film Slide Projector

This is the GoldE Manumatic Film Slide Projector

History

Back in the early 2000s, I ran across what I called a ‘hole in the internet’.  I was trying to find out how fast a cow could run in order to prove to a friend of mine that a cow could outrun him; an argument we got into as I was trying to explain to him that if cows so desired, they would be the most dangerous animal on earth and could quickly kill us all.  Try as I could, I simply could not find this information online.  I found charts detailing the top speed of chickens, pigs, goats, and horses, but no cows!  It was like there was a giant cow-conspiracy that had removed all mention of this information online.  The biggest thing I kept finding was other people online asking this same question, which is never a good sign.  It is now ten years later and the cow speed answer can be found in a five-second Google search.  It seems that it’s getting a bit rarer to find holes in the internet.

However, that long preface was a setup for the GoldE Manufacturing Co of Chicago Illinois, which appears to exist within one of the holes in the internet.  The bulk of the initial searches lead to people selling their equipment and multiple posts on forums of people also looking for more information about them.  After a bit of digging here is what I’ve patched together about them.  The GoldE Manufacturing Co was a company that existed between 1920-1958 that manufactured projectors, both film and slide, and theatre equipment (lighting and such).  At some point in their history they were located at 1220-C West Madison St  in Chicago.  That address appears to now belong to a travel agency.

From what I can find, this particular model of projector was from the mid-to-late 50s.

My Story

This was one of the acquisitions from my brother-in-law.  I don’t actually have a direct nostalgic connection to this particular form of slide projector as growing up we had a cartridge-based projector that was quite different to this.

My Thoughts

This projector is hands-down the most beautiful item in my collection.  I absolutely LOVE the design of this projector.  It’s a brilliant example of 20s Art Deco design.  It’s made of a textured solid metal (maybe bronze?) and it has a built-in two-tone textured carrying case.   It has gorgeous horizontal and vertical grills on the back and the horizontal lines are just there for the design.  EDIT: I was talking about this with my dad and he pointed out that the grill shape on the back increases the surface area and so would help with the cooling, which was always a problem with these projectors, which makes sense.

I feel my words here are just simplistic ravings that don’t do it justice–I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves (I recommend clicking through the gallery on this one–seeing the larger pictures really shows up the beautiful details!)

Compare the GoldE to this similar all-in-one carrying-cased Bell and Howell (which I’ll do a full post on later).  The Bell and Howell is boring modern plastic garbage compared to the GoldE.  The carrying case is the nicest part of it, but the projector itself is functional but ugly.

Which leads to the one downside to the GoldE, it’s actually not functionally very good.  It has a very clunky slide-feeding mechanism.  As best I can figure it out, you have to manually push each slide in the one side:

And then they all end up in a bunch on the other side.


But it’s not at all automatic and leads to you putting lots of pressure on the slides to move the next one forward, which greatly increases the wear and tear on the cardboard slide holders.

I’ll do a deeper write up about slide-technology and some thoughts I have on that, but for today I’ll leave you with the glorious images of the texture of the GoldE’s casing.

15 thoughts on “GoldE Manumatic Film Slide Projector

  1. Pingback: Revere Model 80 8mm Film Projector | The Museum of Obsolete Technology

  2. I have one of these exact same model 300-P-1042. Ser. Number 43450. Thanks for the interesting info. I also came across over 500 filmstrips in 2 really nice metal cabinets made especially for them. I agree that they are really great looking machines. I wonder what kind of monetary value they may have.

    • That sounds like you hit the motherload of filmstrips. I’ve found that most of the old slides I’ve found have a strange pinkish hue to them. I’m not sure what it was about how they were processed but age seems to drain the blue and greens. From what I’ve seen online, these don’t quite yet have any solid price. I’ve seen them offered for $5-$40, but it’s also always hard to tell if they actually sell at that price. But hold on to it–it’s durable enough that it should last another century and by then it might be worth a bunch.

      • Hi – my husband just got one of these – in original case with marketing pamphlets and all – seems to work great (sorry it didn’t have any slides though). How do i know what to look for to get some old slides – on e bay or otherwise? Any tips is appreciated – we would love to see it in action. Love the quality of this one – and funny but our serial number is close to yours – 63154…

      • I have the model 300-P-1042. Ser. Number 43450 & approx. 500 filmstrips with 2 very nice storage cabinets with slide out drawers to store them.I will accept any reasonable offer for them. The projector and case are in excellent condition. They are all educational & appear to be from the 60’s. The kind your elementary teacher showed you after lunch to help put you to sleep for your afternoon nap. Tonydykes@bellsouth.net

  3. I also have one of these slide projectors. I have two different slide mechanisms with mine, the one you show plus one similar to the one the Bell and Howell uses. I don’t know if it came with the GoldE or was aftermarket because it has a adapter piece for the opening in the projector.

  4. Pingback: The Cost of Antiquity | The Museum of Obsolete Technology

  5. I have this same projector. But the only difference is the way the slide are inserted. Mine is much easier and a lot better on the slides.

  6. I just recently aquired this projector and read your article. Is this one older than yours and if so, what is the value you think?

  7. I just bought one last weekend in Lambertville New Jersey, but the power cord is shot. I’ve ordered a vintage cloth cord for it, but it looks like it will be a bit of work to get inside to change the power cord. Looking forward to looking at my Mom’s old slides from the 50’s and 60’s.

Leave a Reply

